Thursday, April 3, 2008

Langhorne Slim - Diamonds and Gold (2008) (Advance)

01. Spinning Compass
02. Rebel Side of Heaven
03. Restless
04. Sometimes
05. She's Gone
06. Colette
07. Hello Sunshine
08. Diamonds and Gold
09. The Honeymoon
10. Tipping Point
11. Oh Honey
12. Worries
13. Hummingbird

This album doesn't come out until April 28th. Amazon is calling it a self-titled album, but I have it as "Diamonds and Gold" so who the fuck knows, Amazon is probably right. Sorry, whatevz. I saw Langhorne Slim open up for Rocky Votolato and he was fantastic. His wardrobe led me to believe he was teleported from the 1880's.

"You could write 2,000 words on Langhorne Slim's banjo and upright bass wizards alone. His tracks are so down-home cracklin', as is his voice (in an extraordinarily wonderful way). Slim's fun, gospel-fied, punk-grass will move you and get you movin'. Cameos from the Pedal Steel, the Accordion and the Trombone elevate the songs. In addition to Slim's furious strumming, the listener is treated to heavy doses of Rhodes, Hammond b3, Ragtime piano and drums!!"