Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings - 100 Days, 100 Nights (2007)

01. 100 Days, 100 Nights
02. Nobody's Baby
03. Tell Me
04. Be Easy
05. When The Other Foot Drops, Uncle
06. Let Them Knock
07. Something's Changed
08. Humble Me
09. Keep On Looking
10. Answer Me

This was the backing band on Amy Winehouse's last album, but don't hold that against them. 100 Days, 100 Nights came out in 2007 but sounds like it's from the 60's. Sharon Jones knows how to do it.

"Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings are a funk/soul band. They are signed to Daptone Records, where the Dap-Kings are the house band (Sharon Jones, the singer, has been singing since the '70s and was even a prison guard for a while). Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings are widely thought to be spearheads of a revivalist movement that aims to capture the essence of funk/soul music as it was at its height in the mid-1960s to mid-1970s. Part of the way this is achieved is to shun modern digital recording methods in favour of using traditional analogue recording equipment. The type of instruments used by the band may also be considered limited to those that would have been available up until the mid seventies."


1 comment:

Ro said...

I'm really glad your blog is back :)